Sea Change – Tai Timu Tai Pari Hauraki Gulf Marine Spatial Plan

The Sea Change – Tai Timu Tai Pari Hauraki Gulf Marine Spatial Plan (the plan) was released in December 2016. It contains a set of proposals for improving the health and mauri of the Hauraki Gulf Marine Park.

The non-statutory plan was developed over 3 years by a 14-member stakeholder working group. The group represented mana whenua, environmental groups, and the fishing, aquaculture and agriculture sectors.

The plan aims to improve the health of the Hauraki Gulf Marine Park for future generations. It includes proposals for:

  • marine protection and fisheries management
  • habitat restoration
  • catchment management
  • localised co-management
  • opportunities for economic development. 

Taking action on the Sea Change Plan

In November 2018, the Government announced it would develop a response strategy to the plan’s conservation and fisheries proposals.

The Ministry for Primary Industries (MPI) and the Department of Conservation (DOC) are reviewing and testing the plan’s conservation and fisheries proposals. Once they have considered the costs and benefits for all those with an interest in the Hauraki Gulf Marine Park they will develop a draft response strategy for the Ministers of Conservation and Fisheries to consider.

An independent Ministerial Advisory Committee will support this work. It will act as a sounding board for MPI and DOC and provide expert feedback and advice through the review and testing process. The committee will also give independent advice to Government ministers.

During this work, MPI and DOC will  be talking with mana whenua, stakeholders, communities, and with the Auckland Council and the Waikato Regional Council. They want to ensure our strategies for implementing the plan are aligned.

The Sea Change Ministerial Advisory Committee

The Sea Change – Tai Timu Tai Pari Ministerial Advisory Committee was established in July 2019. It has expertise in subject areas relevant to the Hauraki Gulf Marine Park such as science and matauranga Māori, environmental issues, law, economics, and commercial and recreational fisheries management.

Members of the committee are:

  • Catherine Harland (co-chair)
  • Paul Majurey (mana whenua co-chair)
  • Volker Kuntzsch
  • Dr Jeremy Helson
  • Raewyn Peart
  • Dr John Montgomery
  • Tame Te Rangi
  • Dr Valmaine Toki
  • Dirk Sieling (appointed 16 December 2019)
  • Moana Tamaariki-Pohe (appointed 16 December 2019)

The committee first met on 30 July 2019 and meets regularly to provide feedback and advice on the response strategy.

Who to contact:

Ministry for Primary Industries

Department of Conservation