Latest News & Public Notices

District Licencing Committee members announced.

04 December 2013

Members of the newly-established District Licencing Committee have now been selected. The Licencing Committee (DLC) will take on licencing responsibilities from 18 December.

The new DLC will consider and determine:

  • All new licence applications for licences and manager certificates, either contested or uncontested.All renewal applications for licences and managers certificates, either contested or uncontested 
  • Applications for Temporary Authorities
  • Applications for variation, suspension or cancellation of licences
  • Other functions include conducting enquiries and creating reports and referrals to the Alcohol Regulatory and Licencing Authority (ARLA).

The District Licencing Committee consists of 6 members (plus the Mayor).The committee is made up:

  • Mayor Glen Leach
  • Councillors Tony Fox, Tony Brljevich and Peter French (Deputy Chair).
  • Alan Vane (Chair). Mr Vane owns a property at Hahei and is a lawyer . Alan has a Bachelor of Laws gained at the University of Auckland in 1974. He was admitted as a barrister and solicitor in 1975. Alan also holds a Diploma in International Legal Studies and Jurisprudence gained from the University of Salzburg in 1980 during his European OE
  • Dorothy Wakeling. Mrs Wakeling owns a property in the Coromandel and is an independent commissioner in environmental planning)
  • Brent Holmes.  - Coromandel based. A former police inspector with 35 years

The Committee will have its first hearings early next year. These meetings will be held in Thames and will be publically notified.