2019 Triennial Election

Local Elections 2019 Facebook Banner

Triennial elections for elected members of most local authorities throughout New Zealand were conducted, by postal vote, on Saturday 8 October 2016.

The elections were conducted under the provisions of the Local Electoral Act 2001 and the Local Electoral Regulations 2001 and were administered under contract by Election Services for the Thames-Coromandel District Council.

2019 Triennial Election Timetable

 Saturday 12 October 2019

Saturday 2 March -
Tuesday 30 April 2019
Ratepayer roll enrolment confirmation forms sent [Reg 16, LER]
Sayurday 2 March -
Saturday 6 July 2019
Preparation of ratepayer roll [Reg 10, LER]
May 2019 National ratepayer roll qualifications and procedures campaign  [Sec 39, LEA]
Monday 1 July 2019 Electoral Commission's enrolment update campaign commences
Wednesday 17 July 2019 Public notice of election, calling for nominations, rolls open for inspection [Sec 42, 52, 53, LEA]
Friday 19 July 2019 Nominations open / rolls open for inspection [Sec 42, LEA]
Friday 16 August 2019 Nominations close (12 noon) / rolls close [Sec 5, 42, 55 LEA, Reg 21, LER]
Wednesday 21 August 2019 Public notice of day of election, candidates' names [Sec 65, LEA]
By Monday 16 September 2019 Electoral officer certifies final electoral roll [Sec 51, LEA, Reg 22, LER]
Friday 20 September - Wednesday 25 September 2019 Delivery of voting documents [Reg 51, LER]
Friday 20 September – Saturday 12 October 2019 Progressive roll scrutiny [Sec 83, LEA]
Special voting period [Sec 5 LEA, Reg 35, LER]
Early processing period [ Sec 80, LEA]
By Friday 11 October 2019 Appointment of scrutineers (12 noon) [Sec 68, LEA]
Saturday 12 October 2019 Election day [Sec 10, LEA]
Close of voting (12 noon)  [Sec 84, LEA]
Progress and preliminary results available as soon as practicable after close of voting [Sec 85, LEA]
Saturday 12 October (pm) - Thursday 17 October 2019 Official count [Sec 84, LEA]
Thursday 17 October - Wednesday 23 October 2019 Declaration of result/public notice of declaration [Sec 86, LEA]
Mid-December 2019 Return of electoral donations & expenses form [Sec 112A, LEA]