2016 Triennial Election Facts


Triennial elections for elected members of most local authorities throughout New Zealand were conducted, by postal vote, on Saturday 8 October 2016.

The elections were conducted under the provisions of the Local Electoral Act 2001 and the Local Electoral Regulations 2001 and were administered under contract, by Election Services, for the Thames-Coromandel District Council.


Council was required to undertake in 2015, a representation arrangements review (a review of wards, communities, boundaries, number of elected members etc). This review did not change the positions being elected in 2016. Elections were required for the following positions:

  • Mayor (elected ‘at large’)
  • Councillors (8)
  • Coromandel-Colville Ward (1)
  • Mercury Bay Ward (2)
  • South Eastern Ward (2)
  • Thames Ward (3)
  • Community Board Members (20)
  • Coromandel Community (4)
  • Mercury Bay Community (4)
  • Tairua-Pauanui Community (4)
  • Whangamata Community (4)
  • Thames Community (4)
  • Waikato Regional Council Members (either 1 member from the Thames-Coromandel General Constituency, or 1 member from the Nga Hau e Wha Māori Constituency)
  • Waikato District Health Board Members (7 members elected ‘at large’)


Nominations for the above positions opened on Friday 15 July 2016 and closed at noon on Friday 12 August 2016.

Nomination forms were available during this period from:

  • Council’s Main Office, 515 Mackay Street, Thames
  • Coromandel Service Centre, 355 Kaponga Road, Coromandel
  • Mercury Bay Service Centre, 10 Monk Street, Whitianga
  • Whangamata Service Centre, 620 Port Road, Whangamata
  • by accessing www.tcdc.govt.nz
  • by telephoning the electoral office on 0800 922 822

To be eligible to stand for election, a candidate must be:

  • enrolled as a Parliamentary elector (anywhere in New Zealand); and
  • a New Zealand citizen.

Detailed candidate information handbooks will be available from the electoral office (phone 0800 922 822) from May 2016.

Electoral Roll

Those eligible to vote at the election are all resident electors and non-resident ratepayer electors whose names appear on the electoral roll when it closes. The preliminary electoral roll (by ward) will be available for public inspection at Council offices within the district from Friday 15 July 2016 to Friday 12 August 2016.

Resident Roll. All parliamentary electors, including those on the Māori Electoral Roll, are automatically enrolled on the Resident Roll, at the address where they live.

Any alterations to the Resident Roll (e.g. change of address details, including new postal addresses) should be made by:

  • completing the appropriate form at any post shop;
  • telephoning 0800 ENROLNOW (0800 367 656)
  • accessing the Enrolment Services (Electoral Commission) website on www.elections.org.nz

Ratepayer Roll. If a person is on the parliamentary roll in one area and pays rates on a property in another area, this person may be eligible to be enrolled on the non-resident ratepayer roll. A firm, company, corporation or society paying rates on a property may nominate one of its members or officers as a ratepayer elector (providing the nominated person resides outside of the area). Ratepayer Roll Enrolment Forms are available at all Council offices, or by phoning the electoral officeon 0800 922 822.

Electoral System

The first past the post (FPP) electoral system will be used for all elections except for the Waikato District Health Board which will use the single transferable voting (STV) electoral system.

Vothing Period

Voting documents will be sent to all eligible electors, by post, from Friday 16 September 2016.

The voting period is three weeks (Friday 16 September 2016 to noon Saturday 8 October 2016). Electors may post their completed voting documents back to the electoral officer using the orange pre-paid envelope sent with their voting document. Polling places for the issuing of special voting documents and for the receiving of completed voting documents will be available from Friday 16 September 2016 to noon Saturday 8 October 2016 at all Council offices.

To be counted, all completed voting documents must be in the hands of the electoral officer or an electoral official by noon Saturday 8 October 2016.

Progress results will be known early afternoon, and preliminary results will be known early afternoon, and preliminary results will be known late in the evening on Saturday 8 October 2016.  These will be accessible on our website.